top of page

About us

The Slovak Toxicology Society, abbreviated as SETOX, was founded in 2006. The Board of the Society is comprised of professionals active as toxicologists in different sectors of society such as academia, authorities, scientific institutions, contract organizations, consulting and industry.


The main objective of SETOX is to establish to support cooperation and exchange of information between SETOX and international professional organizations, to support research and development in the field of toxicology, to support participation of members in activities at international platforms.


SETOX is since 2007 member of the European Society of Toxicology (EUROTOX), an umbrella organization for national toxicology societies. In 2017, SETOX organised the 53rd Congress of the European Societies of Toxicology - EUROTOX 2017 - in Bratislava. The congress attracted more than 1200 participants from 35 countires.

Since 2008, the Slovak Toxicology Society SETOX in close cooperation with the Institute of Experimental Pharmacology and Toxicology, Slovak Academy of Sciences in Bratislava, has been publishing an international journal Interdisciplinary Toxicology, indexed in several world scientific databases. This journal regularly publishes studies from different fields of toxicological research.

SETOX has 4 Divisions:

One of the scopes of this division is experimental modeling of adverse effects during intrauterine development and study of the effect of diverse agents on structural as well as functional integrity using modern in vivo as well as in vitro methods. Another topic of this division is to study of carcinogenity, mutagenity and teratogenity mechanisms.



This division focuses mainly on common intoxications present in the population and cooperates with experienced physicians to elucidate and solve problems of toxic exposure in humans. The help line for intoxications can be found on the

The problem of hypoxia during gravidity and labor is another big issue of this division. Renowned pediatricians and obstetricians, members of SETOX, are focusing on the early detection and treatment of these conditions.



Industrial toxicology and ecotoxicology is the main focus of the third division of SETOX. A great deal of work concerns occupational hazards and possible toxic exposure during the work process. Ecotoxicological problems are solved in the Ecotoxicological Centre Bratislava (ETC). The company provides a battery of ecotoxicological tests using aquatic organisms and biodegradability tests for the identification of hazardous properties of chemical substances, products, chemical mixtures, and different environmental matrices.



This fourth and youngest division of SETOX brings together scientists interested in in vitro methodologies and assessment of toxicity by means of alternative/in vitro methods.
The mission of IVT section is to promote in vitro toxicology and its practical applications, support development and implementation of in vitro methods into toxicology praxis, stimulate, support and promote use in vitro tests in the field of education, serve as an information channel between national and international groups interested in toxicology in vitro, arrange scientific seminars with the subject of in vitro methods.

Evidencia občianskych združení

Názov združenia: Slovenská toxikologická spoločnosť SETOX


Evidencia: Ministerstvo vnútra Slovenskej republiky, sekcia verejnej správy

Právna forma: Združenie (zväz, spolok, spoločnosť, klub ai.)

IČO: 30801729

DIC: 2022154222
IC DPH: SK2022154222

Sídlo: Dúbravská cesta 3484/9, 84104 Bratislava-Karlova Ves, Slovenská republika


Registračné číslo: VVS/1-900/90-27868

Registrový úrad: Ministerstvo vnútra Slovenskej republiky

Dátum vzniku: 03.03.2006

Bankové spojenie

Account Number: 2621735519/1100
Bank Address: Tatra banka,a.s., Hodzovo nám. 3, P.O. BOX 42, 850 05  Bratislava 55, Slovakia
IBAN: SK16 1100 0000 0026 2173 5519

Michal Dubovicky.jpg
Dr. Helena Kandarova, ERT -
Helena Kandarova.jpg
Dr. Mojmir Mach -
Chief Editor Interdisciplinary Toxicology
Mojmir Mach.jpg
Board members:

Dr. Štefan Bezek

Dr. Eva Horváthová

Dr. Silvia Letašiová

Dr. Tatiana Mačičková

Dr. Irina Sadloňová

Dr. Ružena Sotníkova 

Dr. Eduard Ujházy

Honorary members

Prof. Aristidis Tsatsakis

Prof. Heidi Foth

Prof. Peter G. Fedor-Freybergh

Prof. Helena Rašková (†)

Dr. Michal Dubovický -
bottom of page